Awake Before The Sun

Good morning! My day started off with a nice, sweaty hot yoga session at 6 AM. Let me just say how weird it is waking up when it’s still dark outside! Since I got a good run in yesterday morning, I decided today would be good for yoga and some strength training. The one thing I hate about doing yoga first thing in the morning is that they recommend you to not eat anything before your practice, so about half way through, my stomach is a-rumblin’. Needless to say, the last 20 minutes, all I could think about was what I wanted for breakfast. Fattie at heart.

Once I decided that pancakes sounded tasty, I came home on got on Pinterest for some inspiration. Fortunately, I was able to find a new blog with lots of yummy breakfast recipes (my favorite meal!) Her name is Chelsey, and her blog is Clean Eating Chelsey. After browsing through her recipe section, I came across Chia Seed Greek Yogurt Pancakes. PERFECT. I love Greek yogurt and chia seeds! Her recipe (which you can find by clicking the link) makes 4-6 inch pancakes and since I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat 4 pancakes, I cut the measurements a little bit. My version made two perfectly sized pancakes and it looked like this:

  • 1/4 whole wheat flour
  • 1/8 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 packets of Truvia sweetner
  • 1/4 cup strawberry Greek yogurt
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds

And that’s it!

I ended up not using the almond milk.

After mixing all the ingredients together and putting them in a skillet for about 4 minutes on each side..

Scrum-deli-umptious!

..yummy pancakes were ready to eat!

The topping that I used also came from Chelsey when I was trying to decided whether to make the Greek Yogurt Chia Pancakes or the Blueberry Oatmeal Flax Pancakes. It is simply about half of a banana and a tablespoon of peanut butter. Melt them in the microwave together and spread over pancakes. Why haven’t I thought of this before?!

I’m off to relax a bit and then start packing for another visit to Norfolk 🙂 Casey is going to a Steelers Vs. Eagles game this weekend (lucky duck!) so it’s a good excuse to go back to my native land 😉

Leave a Reply

